Shopping for Tires

Home Forums Shopping for Tires

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      John
      Keymaster

First, about my car…

Make, model: 2002 Toyota Camry LE
      Purchased: 2004 (bought used, 2 years old).
      Finance: $12,500.00 total price – paid off in 1 year.
      Problems: none

###

I went to Firestone to get oil change, wheel balance, & wheel alignment.  I was 2k miles over-due on oil change.

The mechanic refused to do wheel balance because my tires where too old.  I agree with them.  I have 82,500 miles on my car and tires were never replaced.  Firestone also recommended that I get a new battery.  Also, one of my tires had a nail.  Again, they refused to repair the puncture because the tire is not repairable.  I agree with them on that also.  I got all I can get out of these tires.

My Camry is wonderful.  I have been doing nothing but oil change for last 4 years.  I had absolutely no major issues.  I used to drive a European car.  I also drove an American convertible.  Switching to Toyota was a smart move.  I may look boring, but I save money.  And it’s pretty reliable.

So, here is my new project.  

"Shopping for Tires"

December 30, 2008

I ordered 4 tires from Costco. 

First, about my car…

Make, model: 2002 Toyota Camry LE
      Purchased: 2004 (bought used, 2 years old).
      Finance: $12,500.00 total price – paid off in 1 year.
      Problems: none

###

I went to Firestone to get oil change, wheel balance, & wheel alignment.  I was 2k miles over-due on oil change.

The mechanic refused to do wheel balance because my tires where too old.  I agree with them.  I have 82,500 miles on my car and tires were never replaced.  Firestone also recommended that I get a new battery.  Also, one of my tires had a nail.  Again, they refused to repair the puncture because the tire is not repairable.  I agree with them on that also.  I got all I can get out of these tires.